It’s like living in a light bulb, with the leaves
Like filaments and the sky a shell of thin, transparent glass
Enclosing the late heaven of a summer day, a canopy
Of incandescent blue above the dappled sunlight golden
on the grass…

— From Sally’s Hair by John Koethe

A mix for Summer 2014. Tap the bottle and twist the cap!




Around this time of year I start to have a major beach craving. With the weather getting cooler I feel such nostalgia for the warm weather and the time I spent at the ocean during the summer. (Some of you might notice that I tend to mention the beach alot on here). I do like Fall and the changing season, but feel sad at the same time with the thought that I might not be at the beach for a while. Earlier this week I spotted these great photographs of a beach in Portugal by artist Christian Chaize on 20×200. His photos document a small stretch of coastline in southern Portugal and just jumped out at me. I love the composition and palette. I can almost smell the saltwater and hear the soft muffled chatter of other people as the waves break and slap on the wet shore. Makes me miss the ocean all the more…

So I made a quick mix this morning with songs that convey a longing for the sea and posted it on 8tracks. Click to listen.

Synthesizers in the Sand

Hop in my Camaro IROC-Z T-65 X-wing starfighter. We’re going to the beach.

Don’t touch that dial;  everybody knows the driver is the DJ.

In the mix:

  • Lightworks (instr.) – Raymond Scott
  • Theatre Matrix – Ceramic Hello
  • Radiance – Andie Oppenheimer
  • Sun – Caribou
  • I Travel – Simple Minds
  • Par Avion – FM Belfast
  • I Told Her On Alderaan – Neon Neon
  • Don’t Call – Desire
  • Stay Close – Delorean
  • Six Royal Vipers – Tobacco
  • Summertime Cowboy (Serge Santiago Version) – Husky Rescue
  • Moskow Diskow – Telex
  • Capri Spinoff – Justin Faust
  • Atmosphere Strut (Remix 1979) – Cloud One
  • Cosmic Surfin’ – Yellow Magic Orchestra
  • Messages from the Stars – The RAH Band
  • Rainforest – Paul Hardcastle
  • Camino Del Sol (Todd Terje Remix) – Antena
  • Here Comes The Night (Single Edit – Promo Mono Mix) – The Beach Boys

Pop-up player

Don’t get burnedDOWNLOAD